Bashakill – three warbler morning in March!

My FOS Palm Warbler at the Nature Trail

My FOS Palm Warbler at the Nature Trail


This morning Scott Baldinger and I birded the Bashakill with hopes of some new arrivals with the strong southwest winds. We weren’t disappointed. First, an OSPREY has returned to the nest site across from the Main Boat Launch. We only saw one, but the second can’t be far behind. A Pine Warbler was singing on Haven Road this morning. At the Nature Trail, Scott and I found quite a few passerines. The highlight of them were three FOS (for me) PALM WARBLERS! We followed them around as they foraged in the undergrowth and I managed to get a couple of shots. There were quite a few Fox Sparrows still present as well as the ubiquitous Song Sparrows. On to the Horseshoe Parking Lot trail and I found two FOS YELLOW-RUMPED WARBLERS! With them were at least four Ruby-crowned Kinglets and a few Golden-crowned Kinglets. Also of note were two flocks of Rusty Blackbirds totaling 31 individuals. On Haven Road 68 Green-winged Teal continue and 18 Ring-necked Ducks were on the Birch Trail. Great morning!
My County FOS Yellow-rumped Warbler at the Horseshoe Parking Lot trail

My County FOS Yellow-rumped Warbler at the Horseshoe Parking Lot trail

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

