New Hampshire “REDWING ” YES!!

Redwing just off the running track.

Redwing just off the running track.

I had heard about the “REDWING” in New Hampshire yesterday, but logistics for a trip to try for it were tenuous. I have some family obligations and I didn’t think I would be able to get away this week. After much discussion last night, it turned out if I was going to get to go, it would have to be today. I didn’t sleep much, so I was up at 2am and headed north. The weather was bad. Heavy rain and some snow made driving at night tough. I made it there by 7am. I met Sean Sime and Shane Blogett there as well as many other very hopeful birders. Finally, just about 9am, the bird flew in. It was quite distant, across a track field, but we had good binocular and great scope views of the bird. My photos are distant and grainy from cropping, but I’m still pretty excited to have them. Another great European vagrant! You can click on them to enlarge so you can see the field marks, but they are grainy.

Redwing just hopping off the track.

Redwing just hopping off the track.

Redwing - my 680th ABA bird!

Redwing – my 680th ABA bird!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Hampshire “REDWING ” YES!!

  1. matthewzeitler says:

    That’s a nice looking bird, John, congrats!

  2. Thanks Matt, you should check out some of the other peoples photos. Sean Sime took some great ones.

  3. Chris says:

    Your enthusiasm never ceases to amaze me. Glad you got to observe it after that drive during those hours.

  4. Jim says:

    680, Wow ! That means you have to try for 700. I see a Colima Warbler hike in your future.

  5. I’m glad you can see it! I have envisioned it, but got scared out of it on my last trip to Texas because I had no one to take the hike with me and a cougar had been being seen regularly at that time. Maybe next trip!

  6. thanks Jim, that is amazing! I too am headed to Florida in April. I stay on Bonita Beach just a short distance from Corkscrew and visit there a couple of times each year. I have always looked for Panthers in the entire area, but never have seen one. Would love to see one, but perhaps a little less up close and personal. Thanks again, and enjoy your trip!

Leave a Reply

