Greater White-fronted Goose Departs!

The GWFG departs the Bashakill headed for points north. It is the third bird from the left.

The GWFG departs the Bashakill headed for points north. It is the third bird from the left.

This morning I was waiting at the Exit 113 Commuter Parking Lot for Lance Verderame. We were heading to Long Island for some birding. As I waited just outside my jeep, I heard the sound of many geese coming. I looked down to the east end of the Bashakill and saw a large skein of geese coming off the Bashakill, taking off to migrate. It suddenly occurred to me that the Greater White-fronted Goose might be among them. I grabbed my bins and to my surprise, the GWFG was in a small skein of geese just ahead of the main group. I reached for my camera and snapped off a shot as the birds passed overhead. While the resulting photo isn’t really identifiable, the bird in the middle by itself is the GWFG. I had great views of it through my bins as it passed overhead. This is really amazing to me. I saw this bird drop out of the sky from a huge skein on Thursday, and got to see it depart at a time (6:20 am) I would never normally have been present. Birding is an awe filled hobby!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

