Bashakill – Greater White-fronted Goose Continues!

The GWFG is now in its second day at the Bash. Perhaps with these intense north winds, it will remain for tomorrows Mearn's Club Field Trip.

The GWFG is now in its second day at the Bash. Perhaps with these intense north winds, it will remain for tomorrows Mearn’s Club Field Trip.


This morning I again searched for the GWFG. I met Bob Senertia and Gerhard Patch on Haven Road where we saw some good birds. These included two Pied-billed Grebe and my county FOS TREE SWALLOWS. We scanned the many ducks and geese, but fell up short for the goose. The Fox Hill Elementary Students arrived, birding and looking for the GWFG as well. I left Haven Road and headed to the Main Boat Launch where I last saw the goose late yesterday afternoon. I walked the Birch Trail out to the tower without any luck. It was an amazing walk though. An immature Bald Eagle kept cruising the marsh, putting up hundreds of ducks as it went. Highlights included 18 Northern Pintail, 10 American Wigeon, 80 Ring-necked Ducks and 7 Green-winged Teal among the abundant Mallards, Blacks and Wood Ducks. As I finished at the Birch Trail, one of the teachers from the elementary school approached me to let me know that they had found the GWFG, back in the same place I had originally seen it yesterday. I thanked him and went right over. The bird had moved since they had seen it, but was still easily found. Unfortunately, it was once again distant. Scope views in the bright sun were great though. Scott Baldinger came over and viewed the bird with me again and we let some other folks know that it was still present. Beautiful morning!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

