Bashakill – GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE!

Greater White-fronted Goose in the channel at the Bashakill

Greater White-fronted Goose in the channel at the Bashakill

This morning I headed to the Bashakill looking for new migrants. Hundreds if not thousands of geese were passing overhead. As I watched a very large skein, a small group of geese peeled off. I never get to see that on birds so high up. They eventually descended and landed not far from me on the Bashakill. I looked up again and saw a second group peel off and descend. As they came in to land, much farther out, I heard a distinct cackling sound. My first thought was Cackling Goose. I was on the birds with my bins as they descended, but in the diffused overcast skies, I couldn’t see any difference in size. They landed and I got on them with my scope. I was very excited to see that the different goose was a GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE, not a cackling. I called several people. No one was immediately available. I headed out the trail to try to get photos of the bird. I succeeded in getting some distant but diagnostic photos. Eventually, Karen Miller and Scott Baldinger arrived and had great scope views of the bird. This is only the second record of GWFG in Sullivan County, oddly enough, the first was found by me on 3/10/10, six years ago to the day! Great morning. (click on the shots to enlarge)

Greater White-fronted Goose

Greater White-fronted Goose

Greater White-fronted Goose

Greater White-fronted Goose

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill – GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE!

  1. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Congratulations on your great find, John, and on such a beautiful day, too!

  2. Thanks Kathy, also nice to know the rails and grebes are in! John

Leave a Reply

