Orange County Geese

A Cackling Goose just off Onion Avenue

A Cackling Goose just off Onion Avenue


This morning I headed to the Black Dirt Region again to try for some of the species I’ve missed. Still missing. I did find tremendous numbers of geese, at 3000 on Onion Avenue. As I pulled up along the field and rolled down my window, I immediately heard a CACKLING GOOSE calling. This is a high pitched nasally honk nothing like a Canada Goose. I looked up the road from where it was coming and the bird was along the road only fifty feet from the edge. I pulled up and the geese didn’t flush. The bird continued to vocalize, something I never tire of hearing. As I took pictures of it, I realized that only thirty feet away was the GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE! They eventually came together and it was neat to see them side by side momentarily. I searched and searched, but found not other unusual geese. I texted a few people, and Linda Scrima responded and got to see the birds. From there, I went around the region, but really found nothing else of note. Returning to Sullivan, I stopped by the Bashakill and found my first MUTE SWAN of the year in the county.
Click on this shot to enlarge it and you will see the birds bill is wide open as it was cackling away.

Click on this shot to enlarge it and you will see the birds bill is wide open as it was cackling away.


Greater White-fronted Goose

Greater White-fronted Goose


Our FOS Mute Swan on Haven Road

Our FOS Mute Swan on Haven Road

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange County Geese

  1. Linda says:

    Although not a lifer, I was still pretty excited to see this Cackling (as if it was a lifer!)…I have sorted through many thousands of geese this year and have come up empty. The GWFG- although continuing, is always a great find,and a great county bird! And to see both at the same time is a thrill! Thank you for another great day of birding!

  2. Your very welcome Linda, always nice to see you!

Leave a Reply

