Blue Chip Farms and Shawangunk Grasslands NWR Ulster County

I was glad to get some decent shots of the Cackling Goose this time around.  Last trip, it was so deep in the Canada Geese I couldn't get any pics at all.

I was glad to get some decent shots of the Cackling Goose this time around. Last trip, it was so deep in the Canada Geese I couldn’t get any pics at all.


This morning Karen Miller and I birded the above areas. Karen arrived shortly before me and had already found the GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE before I arrived. Upon my arrival, I immediately found the CACKLING GOOSE! I met up with Karen and we shared each of our finds. There were at least 1000 Canada Geese along Bates Lane, and many more huge flocks in nearby fields and in the air. As I was coming up Bates Lane, I noticed half a dozen Turkeys at the compost pile. We then went to the grasslands. We hiked the entire main trail watching raptors as we went. At least four Northern Harriers, two Red-tailed Hawks and an American Kestrel were present. We saw no Rough-legged Hawks this morning. We searched extensively for Eastern Meadowlarks that have been being reported, but no luck. It was a brisk but beautiful morning and we had some great birds!
Cackling Goose on Bates Lane.

Cackling Goose on Bates Lane.


Greater White-fronted Goose at Blue Chip Farms.

Greater White-fronted Goose at Blue Chip Farms.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

