Orange County = Great day!

Greater White-fronted Goose on Turtle Bay Road.

Greater White-fronted Goose on Turtle Bay Road.

This morning I headed once again to the Black Dirt Region of Orange County with some target birds in mind. Long story short, I got none of them. What did happen made for some great birding. I made my usual stops along the valley, and found basically nothing. When I reached Breeze Hill Road, I found five Snow Geese, three near the pond and two in the horse paddock. Then on Turtle Bay Road, I found at least 2000 geese! I began to sift through them. At first, looking for Cackling Geese, I found nothing. As I scanned, I suddenly found myself looking at a beautiful adult GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE! This bird was vibrant in color and just a gorgeous goose. I made several calls, alerting all my friends to its presence. Bruce Nott, Linda Scrima, Bill Fiero and Rob Stone were all able to come see the bird. I then toured the valley, continuing my quest for the target birds and came up empty. Finally I returned to the fields at Turtle Bay where I once again found the GWFG. I then headed east to the Newburgh Waterfront to try for the Iceland Gulls that have been being reported there. I met up with Ken McDermott, and it didn’t take long before we found a first winter ICELAND GULL! We searched the abundant gulls for the next hour, but did not relocate the Lesser Black-backed Gull* that has been being seen (we’ve already seen it) the past few days. I finally pulled myself away from a great day of birding with some great birders.

*After I left, the group once again located the Lesser Black-backed Gull

Distant but identifiable shot of the first winter Iceland Gull.

Distant but identifiable shot of the first winter Iceland Gull.

Three of the five Snow Geese on Breeze Hill Road.

Three of the five Snow Geese on Breeze Hill Road.

Another shot of the Greater White-fronted Goose.

Another shot of the Greater White-fronted Goose.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange County = Great day!

  1. Linda says:

    What a great find! Thank John, another great day of birding!

  2. Glad you got it! It was a really nice life bird!

Leave a Reply

