Sullivan County – three day wrap up.

Some of the Pine Siskins at Lance Verderame's feeders in Livingston Manor.

Some of the Pine Siskins at Lance Verderame’s feeders in Livingston Manor.


I’ve been out and about each of the last three days, but haven’t had a chance to update the blog. Here is a wrap up of the birds I’ve seen over the last three days and the locations I’ve seen them. Its been pretty birdy and I’ve had some fun getting out without wind for a couple of days after an extended period of wind here in the county. The best news was today. I woke up this morning to see the local weather predicting that we would have three to eight inches of snow from the “sort of blizzard” hitting down state. Following a brief period of snow this morning, it ended with only half an inch or less, just in the southern part of the county. This set me free for a great birding day. I headed down to the Linear Park Trail. I’ve birded here each of the last three days. The group of waterfowl on the open water here has included 2 Canada Geese, 15 Mallard and the ongoing WOOD DUCK. On Thursday I found that a GREEN-WINGED TEAL had joined the group. It continues through today. Also continuing are the three RUSTY BLACKBIRDS! These birds have ranged from the LP trail to McDonald Road, but can be found most days. I then birded the Neversink River from Holiday Mountain east for two miles. Common and Hooded Mergansers and Bald Eagles were all present. I headed home for lunch at that point, but got a call from Lance Verderame that he had arrived home to find a decent flock of PINE SISKINS at his feeder. After lunch, I headed to Lance’s house and got to see 23 Pine Siskins at his feeders. Lance resides at 8 Elm Hollow Road in Livingston Manor and welcomes anyone to come view his feeders from the road. Thanks Lance! From there, I headed to Rondout Reservoir. I was hoping that something new might have come in as Lance had had some new species arrive in Delaware County. En-route to the Rondout, I passed through Hunter Road where I found a single SNOW BUNTING! Arriving in Grahmsville, I started at the Tri-valley School where I found the fruiting trees full of birds! I had Chickadees, Nuthatches, Dark-eyed Juncos and 31 PURPLE FINCHES! This flock ranges widely, and can often be found at the Orchard just past the reservoir. On the reservoir, I found 200 Ring-billed Gulls, 2 Bald Eagles, 11 Common Mergs, 4 Hooded Mergs, the ongoing Ring-necked Duck, 7 Common Goldeneye, 15 Black Duck and 31 Mallard. For a day that I thought I’d be holed up, It was a great birding day!
The Green-winged Teal at Linear Park

The Green-winged Teal at Linear Park


The lone Snow Bunting on Hunter Road today.

The lone Snow Bunting on Hunter Road today.


The Pine Siskins covered the ground under Lance's feeders.

The Pine Siskins covered the ground under Lance’s feeders.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

