Piermont Pier – WESTERN GREBE

Western Grebe at Piermont Pier.

Western Grebe at Piermont Pier.


This morning I headed to Weston Road Swamp in Ulster County to try for the Red-headed Woodpeckers. I quickly found two. I then headed down to Piermont Pier to try for some of the birds I had seen posted yesterday. Many would be new year birds and I wanted to pick up as many as I could. I birded the pier where I quickly added DOUBLE-CRESTED CORMORANT, CANVASBACK and FISH CROW. I then headed to the area near the dog run and birded the phragmites. It was very birdy! I added both RED-WINGED BLACKBIRD and FOX SPARROW! I spent quite a bit of time there, adding my third Catbird of the week as well as Robins, Mockingbirds and many typical feeder type birds. I was quite cold by now, but decided to head back out the pier for one last look in case anything new had come in. As I reached mid point, I stopped to view some Bufflehead along the road. To my amazement, a WESTERN GREBE popped up right next to them! I took many photos of the bird which was located right off the pier between it and the jetty. I then made many calls, Scott Baldinger, Ken McDermott and Sean Sime were all going to get the word out for me. I then spotted a birder at the upper end of the pier. I found Rose Marie Widmer looking at some ducks through her scope and alerted her to the bird. We both enjoyed great views of the bird. Other birders were now on the way, but frozen, I headed home to post the bird. Ken McDermott, Gail Benson and Tom Burke all soon arrived and got to see the grebe. Great Birding!
The Western Grebe just as it was diving.

The Western Grebe just as it was diving.


For a while, the bird moved farther out into the river, but had moved back in by the time I left.

For a while, the bird moved farther out into the river, but had moved back in by the time I left.


As the bird was coming back in.

As the bird was coming back in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Piermont Pier – WESTERN GREBE

  1. Deb Kral says:

    Very NICE find, John!

  2. Thanks Deb! Hopefully it sticks around for many others to see!

Leave a Reply

