Westchester County Lark Sparrow

Lark Sparrow at Croton Point Park, Westchester County.

Lark Sparrow at Croton Point Park, Westchester County.


With birding still at an extreme low here in the lower Catskills, I headed to Westchester County this morning to see if I could find the LARK SPARROW found at Croton Point Park two days ago. Upon my arrival, I ran into a birder who was leaving. He informed me that the Lark Sparrow was present early, but it hadn’t seen it in about an hour. He had already gotten a couple of photos, so he was heading out. He showed me where he had last seen the bird. I scanned the area from beyond the pavilion to the top of the hill where the bird was most frequently being seen several times over the next forty minutes. No sign of the bird. As I was prepared to make my last round, I stood watching the bushes when a bird flew right by me. It had come from the parking area direction. As it flew past, the brown streaking and white outer tail feathers confirmed it was the bird. It landed in some bushes and eventually worked its way along the ground, giving good views and some photo ops. I alerted three other birders up the hill and they came down to some nice looks at the bird. If you go, be aware it might take a while before the bird shows, but then it shows well. This was my fourth Lark Sparrow in New York State. The first being just a short distance from this park and the other two in the Orange County Black Dirt Region. By the way, this is at least the sixth western species to be found in the northeast since the November front came through.
Lark Sparrow

Lark Sparrow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Westchester County Lark Sparrow

  1. kcmiller@citlink.net says:

    Can’t wait til I’m retired and can decide to drive off in search of a special bird any morning that I want to, alone or with my friend, john. Lucky you today! Sent from my HTC One™ X, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. Linda says:

    Congrats John. We had the same experience on Tuesday. We waited ad then the bird landed on the bushes directly in front of us. Great looks. Glad that it stayed around and that you were able to see it, too!

  3. Thanks Linda! I saw in the ebird reports that you got to see it, congratulations! They have shown up a few times in Orange County, hopefully you will get a chance to see it there sometime as well. Happy Holidays to you and yours, John

Leave a Reply

