Ulster County – Greater White-fronted Goose

A rather distant shot of the Greater White-fronted Goose on Bates Lane.

A rather distant shot of the Greater White-fronted Goose on Bates Lane.


I was birding the Bashakill this morning where things were about status quo. I got a text from Scott Baldinger informing me he had located the Greater White-fronted Goose previously reported at Blue Chip Farms. I decided to head over and see if I could find it. There were at least a thousand geese on Bates Lane, but I eventually located the bird. It was initially in a gully, and I could only see it when it raised its head. I waited it out and it eventually moved to my right, showing itself pretty well. I got some distant but identifying shots of the bird. As I headed out, I ran into Scott who had been over at the grasslands. He informed me the usual birds expected were there. I decided to head back home. Thanks again Scott for the heads up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ulster County – Greater White-fronted Goose

  1. Nice bird John, I might go run for it on the weekend if it sticks. I haven’t gotten any other geese yet this season (with the exception of Snow Geese). I’m sure you have seen or heard about the Cackling Goose that has been seen at the Camel Farm?

    •  Matt,  Yes, I heard about it thanks.  I probably won’t start going down for the geese until after the new year, but you never know. Its been so dead in general, I might just take a run.  The GWFG has been around for a while now, so it will probably stay through the weekend.  Good luck!

Leave a Reply

