At Last!

This was my only half way decent shot from the time the bird spent skulking in the undergrowth.

This was my only half way decent shot from the time the bird spent skulking in the undergrowth.


This has been the quietest fall I can remember. Since my return from Florida (and long before I went) the birding has been scant at best. Many rarities have been being seen across the country, but scarce few in the north east. Today the drought ended. Bill Fiero and I headed down to Brooklyn’s Prospect Park this morning in hopes of finding the PAINTED BUNTING. We arrived in rain, but only ten minutes into our search, it subsided. We met three other birders there, none of whom I knew, and one of the ladies had seen the bird half an hour earlier. It had since disappeared. No worries. Within five minutes, I found it again along the east side of the skating rink, between an upper and a lower path. It was difficult to see, as it skulked among the thick brush. The bird eventually rested in a bush giving very poor views. It was soaked, and we watched as it preened and dried itself off, but photos were poor at best. The bird eventually flew on, and we eventually located it again. This time it went into some really dense stuff at the south east end of the rink. We all watched and waited quietly, and the bird eventually flew into an open area, feeding on some seeding weeds. Here photo ops were much better and we got some half way decent shots. The bird flew into some dense growth just as it began to rain heavily again. We decided that was our cue to leave. Great morning! New York State #401!
About 45 minutes after we initially found it, it came into the open for some better shots.

About 45 minutes after we initially found it, it came into the open for some better shots.


I have been fortunate enough to see many Painted Buntings in my life, but getting it for New York is the icing on the cake.

I have been fortunate enough to see many Painted Buntings in my life, but getting it for New York is the icing on the cake.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to At Last!

  1. scott baldinger says:

    Congrats on NYS #401! I love this bird and always look forward to seeing them every Jan/Feb when I visit my Dad in Fla.
    Scott

  2. Thanks Scott, you should try for it if it hangs in there. Beautiful bird!

  3. Karen C M says:

    Those are some decent photos for a rainy day!

  4. Congrats John! I agree with Karen about your pics, I especially love the top shot!

  5. Thanks Matt! Congrats on you Scoter today! I still need all of them for Orange.

  6. Carolyn F. Moskowitz says:

    These birds hang out in our area (Holden Beach, N.C.) all summer long. I used to live in Brooklyn and happy to see that it visited Prospect Park. Lovely shots of this beautiful bird.

  7. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Congratulations on #401 and getting such a beautiful bird to add to your list of New York Birds! I love the photo of the Bunting huddled among the pine needles.

  8. Don says:

    Congrats on #401 if you or anyone else is still interested the little Painted bunting is still in Prospect Park as of noon today 12/18/15. I was able to get a few nice shots of him today.

    • Thanks Don, I am still interested and would love to see the Painted Bunting again. With my busy holiday schedule and Christmas Bird Counts over the next couple of weeks, I probably won’t get down again until the new year. Hopefully, this beautiful bird will hang in there until then. Happy Holidays to you! John

Leave a Reply

