Lovers Key

Another Reddish Egret, this one at Ft. Meyers Beach.

Another Reddish Egret, this one at Ft. Meyers Beach.

I had a good morning of birding today. I first birded the lagoon at Ft. Meyers Beach and then Lovers Key (The island right next to ours). At the lagoon  I had several trip birds including American Oyster Catchers, Bald Eagles, Eastern Phoebe and PIPING PLOVER. One of the four Piping Plovers was tagged. It had a black flag engraved with #36. I reported it to the Re-sightings Data Base and it was accepted, but showed no previous data. Usually there is the banding date etc., but there wasn’t any. From there I went to Lovers Key, which was quite birdy and had nice long hike through the park. Highlights here included my first of the trip WHITE-EYED VIREOS, Roseate Spoonbills, several warbler species and a nice Eastern Screech Owl. Some Docents saw me birding and told me where to find it, and it was right where they said it would be. A good morning overall, bringing my trip total to 94 species so far.

The banded Piping Plover. A hatch year bird, so there was no data entered on it yet.

The banded Piping Plover. A hatch year bird, so there was no data entered on it yet.

Somehow I can never resist getting shots of Common Ground Doves whenever I can.

Somehow I can never resist getting shots of Common Ground Doves whenever I can.

I wonder if this little guy in a palm tree is related to our friend at the Bashakill.

I wonder if this little guy in a palm tree is related to our friend at the Bashakill.

This Roseate Spoonbill was rather cooperative.

This Roseate Spoonbill was rather cooperative.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lovers Key

  1. Karen C M says:

    Really nice pictures, John.

Leave a Reply

