Shout Out to Orange, Ulster and Sullivan County Birders!

A quick note to all my birding friends in our tri-county area. As most of you have heard by now, a major irruption of FRANKLIN’S GULLS is taking place in the eastern US! It seemed to start here in Florida, where I am still seeing them daily and has continued right up the eastern seaboard. This hasn’t happened in about ten years! The last time, they showed up all over the north east. This is a time when you should be checking every congregation of gulls in our area thoroughly. They are very easy to identify, but easily missed if you aren’t checking the gull flocks. Lets see if we can’t add this species to our county lists! Hope you find one, and talk it into staying until I get back!
PS CHECK THE BASHAKILL FOR CAVE SWALLOWS!

No, this isn't a Franklin's Gull, but thought you might like to look at a Florida Scrub Jay I got to see this morning.

No, this isn’t a Franklin’s Gull, but thought you might like to look at a Florida Scrub Jay I got to see this morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shout Out to Orange, Ulster and Sullivan County Birders!

  1. Les Hallock says:

    Hi, I am at the Bashakill, just about daily. Very interesting, About a week or so ago. I seen some Gulls from the boat ramp. living in Florida for over 30 years , I didn’t know what kind they was until now. I think there is still a few around.

    • Hey Les, nice to hear from you! As you know I’m down here in your neck of the woods! Having a great time, but will be home at the beginning of the week. I will be sure to check out those gulls, thanks for the heads up! John

Leave a Reply

