Cinnamon Teal! New York State # 401

Drake Cinnamon Teal at LaRue Lagoon, Montezuma NWR.

Drake Cinnamon Teal at LaRue Lagoon, Montezuma NWR.


Having heard about the CINNAMON TEAL at Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge yesterday, I got up early and went directly to the RBA to see if it had been relocated. It was being viewed already! I headed right up, taking the three and a half hour drive as quickly as I could. When I arrived I was told that the bird had flown out into the main pool and hadn’t been seen since early. I spent some time searching LaRue Lagoon with no luck. I then worked my way slowly around the wildlife drive, viewing thousands of waterfowl as I went. I really thought it was a futile effort, but gave it my best shot. After two hours of searching I drove back around to the beginning to give it one last try. Back at LaRue Lagoon, there were fewer birds than earlier, and still no Cinnamon Teal. I scanned the vegetation thoroughly, hoping it might be in hiding. Still no luck. I finally started to pull away from the lagoon. As I pulled onto the road, I saw the bird flying in from the Main Pool. The bird was beautiful in flight, with its pale blue coverts and white edging showing nicely as it flew. The bird landed in the pool and began feeding immediately on “Duck Weed” in front of the back stand of Cattails. I was able to take many photos, most of which are distant but show the bird well enough. Though they don’t really show in my shots, the birds eyes were bright red. After a short time, another man pulled up behind me and I alerted him to the birds presence. He made a call and the many people at the Main Pool were all able to come and see it. About a dozen people in all while I was there. A great day and another great bird!
Cinnamon Teal

Cinnamon Teal


Cinnamon Teal

Cinnamon Teal


Cinnamon Teal resting on a tussock

Cinnamon Teal resting on a tussock

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cinnamon Teal! New York State # 401

  1. Karen C M says:

    Good for you, John! That’s a bird worth traveling for. Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

