Great afternoon at the Bashakill

The Barred Owl at the Pine Boat Launch gave us a two Owl day.  That hasn't happened in a while.

The Barred Owl at the Pine Boat Launch gave us a two Owl day. That hasn’t happened in a while.


This afternoon I returned to the Bashakill in hopes of finding the Red-headed Woodpecker again. Scott Baldinger joined me at the Nature Trail, but we were unable to locate it. We did find 60 RUSTY BLACKBIRDS though! From there I went to Haven Road and The Pine Boat Launch. Not much at Haven at first. At the Pine Boat Launch I headed out to the tower when I heard mumbling. I stopped because I was alone (I thought). The mumbling stopped and I started on when it started again. I looked to my left to see an eye level BARRED OWL. As soon as he saw I was looking at him, he began mumbling again. It was pretty neat. I approached and took a number of photos of it and then called Scott. He and Paula came and we all enjoyed the owl at our leisure. It never flushed and seemed not to be bothered by us at all. At one point some Blue Jays found it and dive bombed it a few times, it didn’t appreciate that at all, but never left. From there we went back to Haven Road where amazingly enough, I found either another, or the same Dunlin from last night. I hadn’t seen it all day, so I can’t be sure, but it was still present tonight. Great birding!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great afternoon at the Bashakill

  1. kate hyden says:

    Love the Pre-Halloween Owl!

  2. Thanks Kate, glad you enjoyed it Happy Owl-0ween!

Leave a Reply

