Sullivan County Sparrows

A distant shot of the Vesper Sparrow in Bethel. Click on it for best viewing size. Note the bold white eye ring and chestnut face.

A distant shot of the Vesper Sparrow in Bethel. Click on it for best viewing size. Note the bold white eye ring and chestnut face.


Arlene Borko and I headed out around the county this morning in hopes of finding some good ducks. The intense northwest winds last night potentially put down birds. Well, the ducks didn’t pan out (though Lance Verderame had all the scoters in Delaware County), but sparrows finally came in in good numbers. We had many Dark-eyed Juncos everywhere we went for the first time today. Song, White-throated and Chipping Sparrows were also plentiful. We found a number of both adult and juvenile White-crowned Sparrows in a couple places. Finally, I found my target bird, VESPER SPARROW, on Sgt Resnick Road in Bethel. It was a cold blustery morning with snow flurries throughout the county, and hopefully scoters are on the way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sullivan County Sparrows

  1. Nice job with the Vesper Sparrow John; that’s a bird that I still haven’t seen yet. I’m hoping this is my year for that bird.

  2. Matt,
    Lance actually had 8 Vespers today in Delaware County. With the continued northwest winds tonight, more should come in to Sullivan and Orange Counties overnight. I will be out tomorrow, if I get one or more where I think you might repeat them, I will let you know. John

Leave a Reply

