Bashakill – transitioning to Sparrows and Waterfowl

This shot shows 34 of the 46 Blue-winged Teal at the Bashakill today.

This shot shows 34 of the 46 Blue-winged Teal at the Bashakill today.


It was a beautiful day on the Bashakill today. The temp topped out at just about 70 degrees by noon and birds were very active throughout the morning. The Orchard and Haven Road had many birds, mostly Ruby-crowned Kinglets and Yellow-rumped Warblers. There were also many Song and a few Swamp Sparrows as well as several Common Yellowthroats. The Birch Trail was good again today for waterfowl. Mallard and Wood Ducks were abundant, and so were teal. I had 46 BLUE-WINGED TEAL and 4 GREEN-WINGED TEAL! I’m sure there were more Green-winged, but that was all I could spot (yesterday there were ten). I also had my first HERMIT THRUSH of the fall here today. The Nature Trail was jumping with about 40 White-throated Sparrows and many Song Sparrows present. Ruby-crowned Kinglets were abundant. I had one Indigo Bunting and Black-throated Green Warbler here. The Deli Fields were very active again. About 30 Chipping Sparrows, 30 Song Sparrows, many Yellow-rumped and Palm Warblers and a Common Yellowthroat were present. Northern Flickers were everywhere again today. On a couple of non-avian notes, I had an adult WOOD TURTLE crossing Rt. 209 today. I jumped out and moved it to the woods so it wouldn’t get hit. This is my first Wood Turtle this year. Another nice siting, as I was leaving, a mother Black Bear and her two cubs ran across Haven Road about a hundred feet in front of me. Always happy to see those bears!
My first photo op for a White-crowned Sparrow this fall.  For anyone unfamiliar, this is a juvenile bird, hence the brown crown.

My first photo op for a White-crowned Sparrow this fall. For anyone unfamiliar, this is a juvenile bird, hence the brown crown.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

