Morningside Park – WESTERN SANDPIPER continues!

Western Sandpiper - what a beauty this little guy is.  Note the rufous scapulars, long drooping bill and long black legs. Also note the short primaries.

Western Sandpiper – what a beauty this little guy is. Note the rufous scapulars, long drooping bill and long black legs. Also note the short primaries.


I couldn’t get to Morningside until 10:30 this morning due to a commitment I had forgotten I had. When I arrived, I kayaked all around the islands. I only found 2 Spotted Sandpipers and a Killdeer. I searched for some time just in case I had missed something and decided to leave. As I began to paddle away, I heard peeps flying in. Sure enough, a group of four landed with the other birds on the farthest island. I zoomed over and found 2 Semipalmated Sandpipers, 1 Least and the WESTERN SANDPIPER! They began feeding and seemed oblivious to my presence. They were so confiding that the Western went under the front of my kayak to feed. This seems to happen with whatever sandpipers are present there. This gave me the opportunity to spend a great deal of time with the birds, photographing at my leisure. What a beautiful bird this is! A Northern Harrier flew through a couple of times, but the peeps seemed to be comfortable close to me. When the sun was finally getting to hot, I pulled myself away. Jeff Goulding and Peter Schyler got in touch with me, went for the birds and got them! Congratulations guys! I think these birds will probably remain through the day if anyone is interested in trying for them. The winds are very light and out of the east, that shouldn’t inspire them to move. I was able to find any of the other shorebirds from yesterday. I’d also like to thank Tom Burke for his input as well! Here are some shots of the Western with the other peeps.
Semipalmated Sandpiper on the left, Western on the right.

Semipalmated Sandpiper on the left, Western on the right.


All I can say is WOW!

All I can say is WOW!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Morningside Park – WESTERN SANDPIPER continues!

  1. scott baldinger says:

    Fantastic photos John! I love that you got a photo of the Western with a Semi-Palmated for comparison.
    Scott

  2. Thanks Scott, I was glad to get a couple shots of them together today too!

  3. Karen c miller says:

    I agree ….wow!! Gorgeous.

  4. Wilma Amthor says:

    such an adorable bird
    Nice shot John.
    Wilma

  5. Curt McDermott says:

    Fantastic find and a WORLD CLASS photo!!
    Curt McDermott

  6. Thanks so much Curt! Nice to hear from you! I heard recently you’ve been very busy again, hope you are able to get in some good fall birding. Thanks for being in touch!

Leave a Reply

