Orange and Sullivan County Shorebirds!

The Baird's Sandpiper at the Pine Island Turf Nursery.

The Baird’s Sandpiper at the Pine Island Turf Nursery.


This morning I ran to the Black Dirt region again. Bruce Nott called to inform me he had found 3 American Golden Plover at the Warren Sod Farm. Though I flew down, they were faster and flew off shortly before I arrived. 2 Hours of searching failed to turn them up. All was not lost. The four BAIRD’S SANDPIPERS continued at Turtle Bay Road. This morning they weren’t quite as far out and easily seen. In our search for the plovers, I went to Pine Island Turf Nursery. There I found 200 Killdeer. This was the largest gathering I have seen so far this year. Among them was my fifth Baird’s Sandpiper of the day and a bit more cooperative to photos. Once I was done in the Black Dirt, I headed to Apollo Plaza and Morningside Park. At Apollo I found 9 Killdeer and 2 Solitary Sandpipers. At Morningside I had a nice assortment of shorebirds. 6 Least Sandpipers, 1 Killdeer, 2 Spotted Sandpipers, 1 Lesser Yellowlegs and my first county record LONG-BILLED DOWITCHER! This bird is uncommon in the county and we only get one or two every couple of years. I was thrilled with the find. As is usually the case, it was quite confiding for photos. Since I can’t figure out which one is my favorite, you get four. Another great day!
Long-billed Dowitcher at Morningside Park

Long-billed Dowitcher at Morningside Park


this bird is an juvenile transitioning to winter plumage.  A juvenile would be more likely at this time, but it isn't a good match for the plumage.

this bird is an juvenile transitioning to winter plumage. A juvenile would be more likely at this time, but it isn’t a good match for the plumage.


Long-billed Dowitcher

Long-billed Dowitcher


Since the bird spent most of its time feeding, I thought I should include at least one shot of its doing so.

Since the bird spent most of its time feeding, I thought I should include at least one shot of its doing so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Orange and Sullivan County Shorebirds!

  1. Wow John, what a super day! Nice job with all the photos, they look great. Matt

  2. Gordon says:

    I hope the short billed dow made up for another tough run to the dirt!

  3. Karen C M says:

    Love the Short-Billed Dowitcher pictures … nicely done.

Leave a Reply

