Morningside Park – WHITE-RUMPED SANDPIPER!

Adult White-rumped Sandpiper at Morningside Park in the company of a Least Sandpiper.

Adult White-rumped Sandpiper at Morningside Park in the company of a Least Sandpiper.

Headed out to Morningside this morning ever hopeful for an increase in shorebirds. I wasn’t disappointed. I only just got the kayak into the water when I heard Least Sandpipers calling. I looked out across the lake and saw three birds take off from one of the small islands. I immediately noted one was larger and paler than the other two. I zoomed across the lake hoping for something good. As I made the half way mark, I flushed a Solitary Sandpiper from one of the islands. I was hoping that had not been the bird I had seen. I continued on, nearing the island I saw them land on and could see a larger pale shorebird standing among the Least Sandpipers. Once I was close enough, I put up my bins and was delighted to see a WHITE-RUMPED SANDPIPER. It was an adult, molting into basic plumage. The bird flew from one island to another a couple of times showing off its white rump nicely. I notified a number of people and began getting as many shots of this beautiful bird as possible. I have said it before, but it is always worth repeating that Morningside offers a unique opportunity to kayak among the shorebirds without disturbing them. They become quite confiding and new arrivals quickly learn from the birds that have been present a while that they have nothing to fear. This affords ample time to spend with the birds and get some really great photos. Besides the above birds, a Killdeer and a Spotted Sandpiper were also present. The total of Least Sandpipers was 14, 5 each adult and juveniles and 4 that flew through and I never tried to relocate that I couldn’t determine the age. Arlene Borko, Karen Miller and Matt Zeitler were all able to come see the bird. Matt went out in his kayak as well and should have some great shots on his blog at http://orangebirding.com later today. This brings to 10 the number of shorebird species at this site so far this fall. Great Morning!
Note the black legs and bill, the long primary projection, pale eyebrow and overall pale gray appearance.

Note the black legs and bill, the long primary projection, pale eyebrow and overall pale gray appearance.


White-rumped Sandpiper

White-rumped Sandpiper

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Morningside Park – WHITE-RUMPED SANDPIPER!

  1. Thanks so much for the heads-up John! I had a great time out there today! Matt

  2. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Fabulous find, John!

Leave a Reply

