Morningside Park – improving!

This adult female Pectoral Sandpiper is a bird we don't often get to see in the county.  The vast majority of our Pecs are hatch year juveniles, arriving in late August and onward.

This adult female Pectoral Sandpiper is a bird we don’t often get to see in the county. The vast majority of our Pecs are hatch year juveniles, arriving in late August and onward.


This morning I stopped at Apollo Plaza on my way to Morningside Park. I met Wilma Amthor there. There were only 8 Killdeer present this morning with no other shorebirds noted. The Osprey were present, and Wilma informed me that the one of the young had just fledged. It had made a very short maiden flight, landing almost immediately back on the nest. It then took two more flights, ending up on top or the mall itself, where it was sitting when I arrived. The second chick was exercising its wings and was clearly ready to fledge as well. On to Morningside Park. I kayaked the lake for about an hour. I was finally impressed that some noticeable change had occurred, just overnight. Apparently the warmer temperatures are helping. A spot I kayaked yesterday between two small permanent islands had risen up overnight, creating and isthmus between the two. It is about six feet wide and thirty feet long, and was covered in birds. In that immediate area I had 6 Killdeer, 6 Least Sandpipers, a Spotted Sandpiper and our FOS PECTORAL SANDPIPER! The Pec was an adult female in very worn plumage. I would have to say the bird looked thin. I don’t know if that can actually be the case, but that was how it appeared to me. It fed constantly while I was there and was very cooperative for photos. The Least Sandpipers, now in probably their third day, have become quite accustomed to me. Their confidence was clear to the Pec, who also was quite confiding as a result of the Least’s behavior. Other birds of note were the ongoing Great Egret, a few Great Blue Herons, a Green Heron and a Belted Kingfisher. A nice assortment of birds this morning. Wilma and Arlene Borko joined me to see the birds from shore.
Here is a shot of the Pec with a Least Sandpiper. Similar in appearance, the size difference is significant.

Here is a shot of the Pec with a Least Sandpiper. Similar in appearance, the size difference is significant.


Pectoral Sandpiper

Pectoral Sandpiper

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morningside Park – improving!

  1. Wilma Amthor says:

    Nice shots John.
    It was nice to see you and Arlene out. I am so thankful that I got to see the flights of the 1st osprey juvenile.
    That was such a treat for me. All the years I’ve been watching birds (even before my new addiction) I had never seen a bird fledge the nest.

    Wilma

Leave a Reply

