Apollo Plaza and Morningside Park

One of two Semipalmated Plovers at Morningside Park today.

One of two Semipalmated Plovers at Morningside Park today.


Out again this morning to check for shorebirds. We had some rain in the early morning hours and I was hoping it would help put something down. I was surprised upon my arrival at Apollo to find only the ongoing Green Heron and a single Least Sandpiper. I would return later to check it out again. Remember, the birds at Apollo filter in and out between there and the settling ponds at the landfill. On to Morningside Park. I kayaked out to the first set of mud flats which have increased in size, but only slightly. There were birds there. 2 Killdeer, 3 Spotted Sandpipers and our first of the fall SEMIPALMATED PLOVERS, 2 of them. Many other typical species for this spot continue, but I spent most of my time with the shorebirds. The plovers were very cooperative for photos and I took far to many. From there, I went on to check out the reservoirs. Lance Verderame had called to tell me he had found a phalarope on the Pepackton Reservoir. The distance prevented him from getting it down to a species, but he wanted to alert me that phalarope was a possibility. There were two Osprey and a Common Merganser at the Neversink, nothing else. At the Rondout, many common species were present, but nothing noteworthy. Two Double-crested Cormorants being the best birds. I then returned to Apollo, where I found a few more birds had come in. 6 Least Sandpipers and 4 Killdeer were now present. With the ongoing thunderstorms today, maybe some more good birds will put down.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

