Apollo Plaza and Bashakill

You can still see down around this birds face and under the tail, but it lacks the head tufts that yesterdays chick had.

You can still see down around this birds face and under the tail, but it lacks the head tufts that yesterdays chick had.


I returned to both of the above locations this morning and was pleasantly surprised by the results. I expected that the Least Sandpipers would most likely be gone today, but rather there were now six present. I also found a Spotted Sandpiper chick which was accommodating for a photo. I think the group of Least Sandpipers that were so confiding gave it a sense of security. I don’t think it was the same chick I saw yesterday. This bird had no head tufts (unlike yesterdays) and I suspect it was the second chick I had seen previously. On to the Bashakill, hoping the Great Egret from yesterday might still be around. I stopped at the Pine Boat Launch and headed out to the tower where I happily found three Great Egrets! An adult Bald Eagle was sitting in the dead tree overlooking the scene. Several Common Gallinules were calling as well. Nice morning.
Two of the three Great Egrets at the Bashakill with the Bald Eagle in the back on the left.

Two of the three Great Egrets at the Bashakill with the Bald Eagle in the back on the left.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

