Common Gallinule Follow Up

This morning I got out to the Bashakill before the rain, however, I didn’t get out of the Bashakill before the rain. That said, I did a census of the marsh birds via kayak for about 2 1/2 hours. I had a total of 18 Common Gallinules from the Main Boat Launch three quarters of the way to Haven Road. I had three gallinules that were giving contact and alarm calls for chicks. That brings to four the number of clutches I was able to confirm in two days. One adult crossed an opening with a single chick alongside. I’m sure there were many more. Two other adults also showed themselves, the remaining 14 birds were heard. I didn’t find any other marsh birds this morning, not even a Great Blue Heron. The torrential downpours ended any chance of finding anything else. At the end of the day, I returned to Haven Road and was really surprised to find the Gallinule and her five chicks again. They were slightly farther out than yesterday, but easily seen. This time I also had two Great Blue Herons, but no other waders.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Common Gallinule Follow Up

  1. It’s been too long since I’ve been to the Bash! I’m going to try for the Common Gallinules this weekend, thanks for posting.

  2. Awesome I will be looking for them tomorrow.

    • Good luck! By the way, I didn’t get there today, but yesterday the water was up over Haven Road, so be mindful of the high water. I doubt that will have any effect on the marsh birds at this time, since most nests should have hatched.

Leave a Reply

