Doodletown, Rockland County

Worm-eating Warbler.  Though they were very cooperative, there always seemed to be something that interfered with a good shot.

Worm-eating Warbler. Though they were very cooperative, there always seemed to be something that interfered with a good shot.


This morning I finally got the chance to head to Doodletown in Rockland County. I have been wanting to get down for my yearly KENTUCKY WARBLER and fortunately, I was able to find it pretty easily (would not hold still for pics like last years did). It was a great morning overall with many birds seen. Highlights included Cerulean, Hooded, Worm-eating and Blue-winged Warblers. Other species seen included Great Crested Flycatcher, Baltimore Oriole, Indigo Bunting, Wood Thrush, Northern Waterthrush, Louisiana Waterthrush, Common Yellowthroat, Yellow Warbler, Hairy, Pileated and Red-bellied Woodpeckers, Eastern Wood Pewee and Eastern Phoebe and several Yellow-billed Cuckoos. I think I heard a Black-billed Cuckoo in the distance, but couldn’t be sure. One of the biggest highlights for me was a rather soggy GREAT HORNED OWL! It had just finished raining, and he was drying out on the side of a tree. This was a new county bird for me for Rockland County. I ended the morning with 41 species in total. A non-avian highlight was an Eastern Box Turtle. I hadn’t seen one in several years and it was a real treat to see it. This was without a doubt the oldest and largest Eastern Box Turtle I have ever seen. As it crossed the trail ahead of me, I initially thought it was a Wood Turtle due to its size. Its carapace was over six inches and it surely measured over eight inches from head to tail. A great morning overall!
A very large and old Eastern Box Turtle.  Lots of wear on the sides of carapace.

A very large and old Eastern Box Turtle. Lots of wear on the sides of carapace.


I had walked past this Great Horned Owl twice without seeing it.  I had just turned around again when I looked to my right and it was just sitting there watching me.

I had walked past this Great Horned Owl twice without seeing it. I had just turned around again when I looked to my right and it was just sitting there watching me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doodletown, Rockland County

  1. Nice day for sure John, I will have to put that on my list of places to go. I love the look that owl seems to be giving you, great shot.

Leave a Reply

