Yellow-breasted Chat!!!!

This afternoon I was checking out some different areas at the Bashakill for new warblers. I arrived at one location and immediately found a YELLOW-BREASTED CHAT! I was able to follow the bird for some time, relocating it as it skulked in dense trees and bushes. I was then able to call several friends whom I knew to be able to come try for the bird. A group of us gathered, and eventually I relocated it back in the tree I found it originally. It gave us great identifying views. I am keeping the exact location under wraps for the time being, I’m hoping perhaps it will remain to breed at that spot. We last had breeding Yellow-breasted Chats in the county in 2005! The bird spent most of its time skulking and it would suddenly fly to the top of a tree, but I’m not quick enough to have gotten a photo. With all the other birds we had today, It was one of the greatest days of birding this year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yellow-breasted Chat!!!!

  1. Deb Kral says:

    Fantastic find, John!!! (and a bird that continues to elude me) – I should have stuck around ! Right after you left the Nature Trail parking lot, a Magnolia warbler came to the stream to bathe!

  2. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Congratulations on finding such a spectacular bird, John! How wonderful if it should breed there!

Leave a Reply

