Linear Park, Gumaer Falls Road and yup, back to the Bashakill

My FOS Chestnut-sided Warbler at Linear Park

My FOS Chestnut-sided Warbler at Linear Park


This afternoon I headed out around 3:30 to see if I could find some new things at Linear Park. For that late in the day, the place was hopping! Warblers were everywhere! Black and White, Blue-winged, Yellow, Common Yellowthroat, Black-throated Blue, American Redstart, FOS CHESTNUT-SIDED WARBLER, Northern Parula and Ovenbird were all seen! Sparrows were abundant with Chipping, Song, White-throated and my second LINCOLN’S of the day, as well as two Eastern Towhees. House Wren, Gray Catbird, American Robin, Wood Thrush, Eastern Phoebe, Warbling Vireo and Veery were all present. From there I went to Gumaer Falls Road. I was hoping for my FOS BLACKBURNIAN WARBLER and I found many, 9 to be exact! Four males got into a brawl in a tree, all of them hanging on to another, and fell to the ground in a thud! It took a minute for them to compose themselves and fly off. Several more males and one female rounded out the group. Eastern Phoebe, Chipping Sparrow, Dark-eyed Junco, Blue-headed Vireo, Pine and Black-throated Green Warblers were all seen. From there I headed back to the Bashakill for a quick look on Haven Road. I was glad I did! I’ve been hearing the American Bittern for some time, but all efforts to see it have been feudal. As I stood talking to Kevin Kriesher, I noticed the Bittern take flight just about forty feet from us. It had been there while we were talking and we never saw it. We saw where it landed, across the channel and quite a ways out. As we continued to talk, I noticed a second Bittern was still right near us. We managed to get quite a few shots of the bird, which foraged around, catching some small fish or tadpoles. Scott Baldinger came along and he too finally had great looks at the bittern. I was pleased to see that there are in deed a pair, I was beginning to wonder. I ended the day with 17 species of warblers and 90 species overall! Great afternoon!
One of several Blue-winged Warblers I had today, this one at Linear Park

One of several Blue-winged Warblers I had today, this one at Linear Park


The female American Bittern along Haven Road.

The female American Bittern along Haven Road.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Linear Park, Gumaer Falls Road and yup, back to the Bashakill

  1. Bill says:

    Chestnut Sided shot = a 10.

Leave a Reply

