Bashakill 4/13/15

The pair of Northern Shovelers from Haven Road.

The pair of Northern Shovelers from Haven Road.


This morning I headed to the Bashakill again. There was some noticeable movement overnight. Lance Verderame called to inform me he had some good passerines at the Deli Fields. He had a lot of Savannah Sparrows, Song Sparrows and an Eastern Meadowlark! I didn’t get there until much later, but was unable to locate the Meadowlark. Ducks continue in good numbers, especially Ring-necked Duck, Wood Duck, Black and Mallards. I didn’t see any Mergansers this morning (though I may have just missed them) and most of the grebes are now gone. I had four Pied-billed which will likely stay and breed and one Horned Grebe. The Nature Trail was my most active spot. There were many Song and Swamp Sparrows, Dark-eyed Juncos, Ruby-crowned Kinglets, a male EASTERN TOWHEE and a beautiful BROWN THRASHER! Other spots around the kill that were good included the Pine Boat Launch, where I found a couple of PINE SISKISNS, and the continuing two drake Redheads. After hearing my FOS LOUSIANNA WATERTHRUSH near the fisherman’s platform on Indianna Road, I easily found two singing males (fighting more than singing) on the Stone Fields Trail. Back at Haven Road, I found four Savannah Sparrows.
A drake Blue-winged Teal on the Birch Trail.  I had a total of 9 Blue-winged Teal this morning, 2 on Haven Road and 7 on the Birch Trail.

A drake Blue-winged Teal on the Birch Trail. I had a total of 9 Blue-winged Teal this morning, 2 on Haven Road and 7 on the Birch Trail.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bashakill 4/13/15

  1. Wilma Amthor says:

    I’m always working when the good things come in!! Can’t wait for retirement
    Great job, John.

    Wilma

Leave a Reply

