Amazing day again!

Male Red Crossbill

Male Red Crossbill


This morning, Bill Fiero and I met to do some county birding to spruce up his list. It was a cold start (10 degrees) but it began to warm up at least a little. The Bashakill was mostly frozen yet again, reducing numbers of birds. Wood Duck, Mallard, Ring-necked Duck, Common and Hooded Mergansers, Canada Geese and Black Ducks were all we could find. Only a couple of Bald Eagles were present, but it was earlier than I usually go. We then headed up the Neversink River. Both Common and Hooded Mergansers, Mallards and Canada Geese were all present. The best bird along the stretch was a nice BELTED KINGFISHER. My first in a long time due to the harsh winter. From there we went to the Rondout Reservoir. One of the REDHEAD DRAKES continues among an assortment of common species. One Killdeer was still present as well. From there we headed through the mountains, looking for winter finches. We had lots of continuing Pine Siskins and one Common Redpoll. As we were heading back down county, I asked if Bill had had a RED BREASTED NUTHATCH yet this year. We were off to find a pair that are very regular on Huson Road at the Neversink Reservoir. When we pulled over I didn’t hear anything at first. As I listened I thought I heard a RBNH. I spished to bring it in and immediately heard a familiar call. I exclaimed “CROSSBILL”!! It took a minute for me to locate it, but I then pointed out a female RED CROSSBILL to Bill! I began to search the trees and spotted a total of four Red Crossbills, one male and three females! This is only the second time I’ve ever had them in the county, the last being just last fall. I made several calls, but was only able to reach Scott Baldinger. Though we had to leave, I explained to Scott exactly where to find them. He called a short time later to say he had found the same birds we had seen. Great birding!
Female Red Crossbill - click on photos for best viewing size.

Female Red Crossbill – click on photos for best viewing size.


male Red Crossbill

male Red Crossbill

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazing day again!

  1. scott baldinger says:

    Hey John
    Thanks for the call! Great thrill for me to see these birds today including my first ever male! To have them in Sullivan County made it even better! To add perfection to an already great day, I had a NORTHERN GOSHAWK fly over me when I was at the Cooley Rd bog. This is the 3rd time I have seen a Goshawk at or near the bog since I first started birding this area. What a day!
    Scott

  2. Wow that’s great too! Bill and I were at Cooley Bog but didn’t really stop, I have seen so little there lately. Glad you found it and got the Red Crossbills!

Leave a Reply

