Eagle Explosion at the Bashakill!!! Remember to click on photos for best viewing size.

distant shot of the Golden Eagle at the Bashakill this morning.

distant shot of the Golden Eagle at the Bashakill this morning.

I got a late start at the Bashakill this morning because I had gone to the Rondout Reservoir to see if anything new had come in. There was nothing new, but the beautiful drake REDHEAD continues among the more common waterfowl. When I reached the Bashakill, I checked things out on Haven Road. Things were about the same there. I headed to the Stop Sign Parking Lot to check the open water from there. As I looked over, I spotted a beautiful immature GOLDEN EAGLE feeding on a deer carcass across the kill. The carcass has been there a couple of weeks, but I have never seen anything on it. This was a great first taker! I was able to call several people, and Scott Baldinger and Wilma Amthor were able to come see the bird. We watched it for nearly an hour when It finally left the carcass and flew into the pines. It was resting and preening the last we could see it. Hopefully, it will spend the afternoon digesting its meal and then return to the carcass. Scott had been out birding with Gene McGary this morning, and the abundance of Bald Eagles I had yesterday had actually increased. They had a total 13 Bald Eagles this morning!! The Golden Eagle was icing on the cake!! I went around the kill when I was done, but was only able to see seven Bald Eagles myself, but that was much later than Scott had had them. I’m sure they were resting after their meals just like the Golden. If you want to see and abundance of eagles, head to the Bashakill this weekend!

Golden nape shows well in this shot.

Golden nape shows well in this shot.

White band in tail shows well here.

White band in tail shows well here.


The drake Redhead continues at the Rondout Reservoir.

The drake Redhead continues at the Rondout Reservoir.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eagle Explosion at the Bashakill!!! Remember to click on photos for best viewing size.

  1. kate hyden says:

    wow! What a find..great pics John!

  2. Wilma Amthor says:

    WOW, John your shots came out really clear!!! Mine aren’t bad either. Great job and thank you for calling me!!!
    Wilma

  3. Wow, very exciting John! Any thoughts on best time of day to try for the Golden Eagle?

Leave a Reply

