Ulster County

Iceland Gull at the Mohonk Mountian House Compost field.

Iceland Gull at the Mohonk Mountian House Compost field.


I set out this morning to try for some new year birds in Ulster County. I was hoping for some new gulls and Eastern Meadowlark. Well I missed them all. I did have a good morning of birding though. My first stop was the fields at the Mohonk Mountain House Compost fields. There weren’t very many gulls present, hardly more than 100. Once they all settled in the field, I was able to sort through them. About 80 Herring Gulls, 22 Great Black-backed Gulls and one first winter ICELAND GULL. Unfortunately, there were no Lesser Black-backed nor Glaucous Gulls present. I got a few shots of the Iceland Gull, but once again they were down slope from the road, making photos difficult. From there I went on to the Shawangunk Grasslands. I had heard that there have been several Eastern Meadowlarks present. I hiked the entire grasslands for an hour and a half, but no meadowlarks. I did have Savannah Sparrow, Tree Sparrow, Northern Harrier, Red-tailed and Rough-legged Hawks and two Short-eared Owls. It was a beautiful morning for a hike, and I really enjoyed it.
a distant Short-eard Owl at the Shawangunk Grasslands at mid-day.

a distant Short-eard Owl at the Shawangunk Grasslands at mid-day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

