Orange County Black Dirt Region

The first Cackling Goose on Pierce Circle this morning.

The first Cackling Goose on Pierce Circle this morning.


The Cackling Goose rests among the flock of Canadas.

The Cackling Goose rests among the flock of Canadas.


I spent most of the day today in the above area. Matt Zeitler had seen a flock of Snow Geese there yesterday and I wanted to scan through them and flocks of Canada Geese for any special geese that might be present. I started on Celery Ave., where I was surprised to find not a single goose at 10 am. I moved on to Onion Ave and then Pierce Circle. On Pierce I found a flock of approximately 2500 Canada Geese. I scanned them for about 15 minutes when I found a CACKLING GOOSE! I let Rob Stone and Bruce Nott know about it and they both came over to see it. I spent quite a bit of time with the bird, getting some photos and then scanning the rest of the flock. I found no other special geese. I then moved on to the Camel Farm where Bruce had gone. We ran into each other there and he informed me he had seen a goose that seemed small to him. We spent some time scanning when I spotted the second CACKLING GOOSE of the day, most likely the bird Bruce had seen. We got some photos of this bird and then moved on, still looking for Snow Geese. Rob informed me that he had spotted a flock of Snow Geese taking off in the morning, and it must have been the same birds and we never found them again today. Other areas I covered today were Warren Sod Farm, Pine Island Turf Nursery, Oil City Road, Missionland Road, Skinner Lane and Indiana Road. Other birds of interest seen were hundreds of HORNED LARK, one flock of SNOW BUNTINGS, several ROUGH-LEGGED HAWKS and a couple of NORTHERN HARRIERS. A flock of White-crowned Sparrows were present on Indiana Road. Curt McDermott was out late in the day and had many of the same birds. He let me know that one of the Cackling Geese had moved to Celery Ave, a regular roosting spot on the Wallkill River for the geese. The flock from the Camel Farm moved to the New Jersey portion of the Wallkill NWR late in the day on Owen Road. Great day!
The second Cackling Goose of the day at the Camel Farm(center)

The second Cackling Goose of the day at the Camel Farm(center)


The Cackling Goose at the Camel Farm is the first one I can recall that has a distinct white band at the base of the neck.  Not uncommon, but I hadn't seen it before myself.

The Cackling Goose at the Camel Farm is the first one I can recall that has a distinct white band at the base of the neck. Not uncommon, but I hadn’t seen it before myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange County Black Dirt Region

  1. John,

    Thanks for the help today – by the time I got into the area all the geese had left Celery and were gathering at Pierce. I got very lucky and saw the Cackling Goose fly in with about 30 Canadas and land quite a ways out in an open field. I was on the bird for only a short time when all the geese relocated to an adjacent field with corn stalks.

    Matt

    • Glad you got to see it!  At one point today, all the geese went into the corn stalks and Bruce and I were sure glad we had seen them for so long before because we couldn’t pick anything out while they were piled up in there.

Leave a Reply

