Sullivan County Grassland Birds – a clean sweep!

The Lapland Longspur on Robisch Hill Road this morning with two Horned Lark.

The Lapland Longspur on Robisch Hill Road this morning with two Horned Lark.


With conditions ideal this morning to find grassland birds in the county, I set out to do just that. The results were good. I went up-county to some of our grassland hotspots. At first, I had covered a great deal of good territory with no results. I eventually reached our best spot on Goebel Road in the Beechwoods/Villa Roma area. Still nothing! Just when I felt a bit discouraged, on Long Road, three HORNED LARK flushed from along the road. I checked around for any other birds, but they were the only birds there. I covered a lot more of this vast area to no avail. I then decided to try Robisch Hill Road. As I went up the steep hill, two Horned Lark flushed from the edge. I continued on up until the habitat ran out. I turned around and headed back down. A UPS truck was coming up the hill. As it neared me, I knew the larks would flush. When they did, I was surprised to see four birds, not two. As soon as they flew up over me, I knew one was not a lark. The UPS truck passed and I stepped out, knowing the birds would land in the road directly behind me. When they touched down the fourth bird was a beautiful LAPLAND LONGSPUR!! I took a few shots before the birds took off, flying up the hill. From there I covered several more areas with not luck. Heading home I decided to try Haven Road at the Bashakill. Paydirt! There were many birds on and near the road. Some flew off into the frozen marsh, but 8 AMERICAN PIPITS, 5 HORNED LARK and 2 SNOW BUNTING remained. I called Arlene Borko, knowing she still needed the Pipits, and she came over to see them as well. Great morning with a clean sweep of all four winter grassland birds!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sullivan County Grassland Birds – a clean sweep!

  1. Wilma Amthor says:

    Thanks John, glad to see you posting local again. I Was at the Bash that morning until around 1015 and didn’t see anything really good except 2 hawks.

    Wilma

Leave a Reply

