Major influx of Gulls on Bonita Beach North Tip, including GLAUCOUS GULL!!

Glaucous Gull on Bonita Beach, a real rarity for the area.

Glaucous Gull on Bonita Beach, a real rarity for the area.


This morning I walked to the point to see if these continuing fronts coming from the north had brought anything new in.  I was surprised to find almost no birds there.  As I scanned the few that were present, It soon became apparent that gulls were now coming in  in mass numbers.  I scanned as they came in, not being able to keep up with them as they landed.  In just a short time I had 23 Herring Gulls, including the first adult I have seen this season. At 8:45 the continuing FRANKLIN’S GULL flew in (it was not seen yesterday).  As I continued my efforts gulls continued to arrive.  Three first winter LESSER BLACK-BACKED GULLS came in all together!  I now had huge numbers of gulls and terns, and five species present.  I now began to think I might get a Great Black-backed, but it wasn’t meant to be (yet).  I counted the Ring-billed Gulls which now numbered near 50! As I came upon the Franklin’s again, I noticed a huge bird landing on the next sandbar.  I was amazed to see a gorgeous first winter GLAUCOUS GULL come to rest and begin preening.  I now had about  thousand gulls here and some of the most sought after species possible.  I spent the next hour taking photos and hoping someone would show looking for the Franklin’s, but when it didn’t happen I decided to head in to post these birds,  I didn’t get far.  I spotted Al Menk walking up the beach and took him to see the Glaucous!  He also wanted the Franklin’s, but we spent a lot of time with the Glaucous, then began to search for the Franklin’s.  As we were scanning the birds, a Turkey Vulture came in and seemed to attempt a landing on the beach. Everything went nuts, and a huge number of gulls took off to the north and did not return.  We didn’t find the Franklin’s, and the Glaucous went north with the group, heading to the beach up near where they are renourishing the beach.  We didn’t see it come back, so I left to make this report.  This is my seventh species of gull at the point this week!  I will post some photos to the site shortly.   I will certainly be out again this afternoon. John Haas

Glaucous Gull

Glaucous Gull


Chased by a Herring Gull.

Chased by a Herring Gull.


First winter Lesser Black-backed Gull

First winter Lesser Black-backed Gull


The ongoing Franklin's Gull.

The ongoing Franklin’s Gull.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

