Bonita Beach, Bunche Beach and Eagle Lakes Community Park

I always have to post a photo of a Magnificent Frigatebird when I'm down, I just can't get enough of them.

I always have to post a photo of a Magnificent Frigatebird when I’m down, I just can’t get enough of them.


I’ve been covering a lot of territory since I last posted. The above locations are all great birding hot spots. Bunche Beach had an abundance of shorebirds yesterday. Marbled Godwits, Little Blue Herons, Piping Plovers, terns, gulls and more. This morning I birded Eagle Lakes Community Park near Naples. One of my long time birding favorites. I had 47 species there. Wood Stork, Glossy and White Ibis, Great-tailed Grackle, warblers, Gallinules, grebes, ducks (including 30 Black-bellied Whistling Ducks) and much more. This afternoon, right back here at the condo on the beach (Bonita) One of the things I love about this spot is the fact that the birds are always used to people. I can walk among them, taking photographs, usually without disturbing them. This afternoon I had a first winter LESSER BLACK-BACKED GULL, A REDDISH EGRET and MAGNIFICENT FRIGATEBIRDS. A relaxing sort of birding, as the birds just sit there. There were at least 3000 birds on the point on our beach this afternoon, you can’t ask for more willing subjects than that.
Just a fraction of the birds that roost on the point at Bonita Beach every afternoon.

Just a fraction of the birds that roost on the point at Bonita Beach every afternoon.


A beautiful Reddish Egret was among the group this afternoon.

A beautiful Reddish Egret was among the group this afternoon.


Sifting through gulls for something good has always been a pleasure for me.  Here I have a first winter Lesser Black-backed Gull.

Sifting through gulls for something good has always been a pleasure for me. Here I have a first winter Lesser Black-backed Gull.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

