Bonita Beach Florida

Lesser Black-backed Gull on Bonita Beach

Lesser Black-backed Gull on Bonita Beach


I am currently in Bonita Beach Florida. I will post a few of my good finds in the area periodically. Today I birded the beach itself and had some good birds. Among the abundant common species of terns, gulls and shorebirds, I found an adult LESSER BLACK-BACKED GULL, three COMMON TERNS, and a juvenile BONAPARTE’S GULL. I was surprised to find that Common Tern is considered rare here. I have had it here in November in the past. The Bonaparte’s Gull was a new state bird for me, so I was more impressed with it than the terns. A beautiful Roseate Spoonbill was also nice to find on the beach.
This juvenile Bonaparte's Gull was a new state bird for me.

This juvenile Bonaparte’s Gull was a new state bird for me.


One of three Common Terns present on Bonita Beach today.

One of three Common Terns present on Bonita Beach today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

