Hawk Watch and Snow Bunting

My First of the Season Snow Bunting on Haven Road.

My First of the Season Snow Bunting on Haven Road.


I spent a frigid five hours at the Summitville Hawk Watch today. I had a total of 73 raptors, 1 Red-shouldered Hawk, 2 Sharp-shinned Hawks, 1 Bald Eagle and 69 Red-tailed Hawks. Temperatures hovered right around freezing all day and the wind was sustained in the 25 mile per hour range. Not fun! I was sure I would get more Golden Eagles today, but it didn’t happen. On the way home I stopped by Haven Road and found my FOS SNOW BUNTING right along the bridge. Nice start to the month.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hawk Watch and Snow Bunting

  1. Really great Snow Bunting shot John. That’s a bird I always look forward to seeing.

  2. Karen C Miller says:

    That’s a beautiful picture of the snow bunting. Such a sweet bird!

Leave a Reply

