California Condor now ABA countable! #676

One of the juvenile California Condors I was able to see at the Grand Canyon South Rim in July 2007.

One of the juvenile California Condors I was able to see at the Grand Canyon South Rim in July 2007.


The ABA recently voted by a margin of 4 to 1 to make species that have been reintroduced to the wild countable once they have begun breeding again. Here is the new regulation regarding this action. A complete account will be made available to the public on the ABA Blog in the near future. This not only affects California Condor, but Aplomado Falcon and Whooping Cranes in Florida as well. Great news! For a more complete explanation, go to the ABA Blog and then to Listing Central. I think it is a bit hard to navigate, but that may just be me.

2014: (vi) an individual of a reintroduced indigenous species may be counted if it is part of a population that has successfully hatched young in the wild or when it is not possible to reasonably separate the reintroduced individual from a wild-born individual;

Addendum: On a number of occasions through the years I have tried to find out the status of California Condor A4 pictured above. I was able to observe a number of condors on my trip, but this bird was the most cooperative for photos and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with this bird. I had never found it on any list until now. I checked the Peregrine Fund web site on the California Condor. It provided a complete list of all condors released or born in the wild and what there current status is. The site was just updated this September. A4 is currently alive and well, living in the wilds of northern Arizona. He (it is a male) is now ten years old and has been living freely since his release in the spring of 2006.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to California Condor now ABA countable! #676

  1. Adam S. says:

    I agree that the site is hard to navigate! But I found reference to which California Condors are “countable” – http://listing.aba.org/reintroduced-indigenous-species/

Leave a Reply

