A Busy Day

I have been trying for years to get a good Philadelphia Vireo shot.  As you can see from this one, I will still be trying.  At least I got him to hold still long enough to get a shot.

I have been trying for years to get a good Philadelphia Vireo shot. As you can see from this one, I will still be trying. At least I got him to hold still long enough to get a shot.


This morning I spent time at Morningside Park. There was a nice assortment of Shore birds there. Three Killdeer, two Least Sandpipers, two Semipalmated Plovers, One Semipalmated Sandpiper, One Pectoral Sandpiper and one Spotted Sandpiper. Also present, two Kingfishers, one Double-crested Cormorant and a Great Blue Heron. From there I went to the Hawk Watch for a few hours. It was the first day of the season and movement was expectedly slow. I had Ten Broad-winged Hawks, one Bald Eagle and one Cooper’s Hawk. Late in the day I went to the Bashakill where things were really jumping. I birded the Stop Sign Trail, Orchard and Haven Road parking area on 209 side. I had all five expected Vireos, Philadelphia and Blue-headed the highlights, six species of warblers and many resident birds. A Great Crested Flycatcher was my first in some time. Great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Busy Day

  1. Wilma Amthor says:

    Really nice shots John. I’m glad you had a great birding day. Wima

    • Thanks Wilma, the flower you were asking about at the Nature Trail is called a “Bottled Gentian” The way you say it is in full bloom. It never opens and is pollinated by some insect that puts a small hole in the center top. Mary Busky is familiar with it and explained it to me. {probably better than I just did) John

Leave a Reply

