Bashakill and Warren Sod Farm

This afternoon I headed back to the Bashakill to see what else I might find. I birded the Stop Sign Trail, which I hit briefly this morning, but had no birds. This afternoon was a different story. I had a large mixed species flock right past the Stop Sign on the marsh side of the trail. Magnolia, Chestnut-sided, Black-throated Blue, Black and White and Hooded Warblers were all seen as well as Common Yellowthroat and American Redstart. I was just finishing up there when I received a call from Matt Zeitler that he had found some plovers at the Warren Sod Farm. They were initially to distant to identify. I headed down to see if we could get a positive ID. Upon my arrival, Matt informed me the birds had disappeared in the distance. Almost immediately, many birds took to the air in the distance. Killdeer, Starlings and the plovers. As the birds headed in our direction, they banked and their clear underwings and armpits were able to be seen well, AMERICAN GOLDEN-PLOVERS!! Nice find Matt! The birds flew around several times, eventually landing in a spot where we could get closer. Fortunately, once we were in place, the plovers flew in even closer, allowing us to get some photos. Along the way out to the plovers, I spotted a Pectoral Sandpiper and a couple of Least Sandpipers in some puddles. Four Horned Larks also flushed from the road ahead of us. A nice afternoon of birding. Thanks Matt for finding the birds and alerting me to their presence!

Pectoral Sandpiper at Warren Sod Farm

Pectoral Sandpiper at Warren Sod Farm

American Golden-plover

American Golden-plover

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

