Orange and Sullivan Counties, a few good birds!

Caspian Tern at Morningside Park

Caspian Tern at Morningside Park

This morning I headed to Morningside for my usual routine. As I kayaked the lake, I spotted a large white bird heading in my direction. My thought of Great Egret was short lived as I was thrilled to see an adult CASPIAN TERN heading right over me. I made a couple of calls, but only Arlene Borko was able to come. The bird fished for over half an hour, with at least a couple of successful catches. It circled the lake at least a dozen times. The bird passed overhead many times, allowing me to get a few identifiable photos from my kayak. Just as Arlene was about to arrive, the bird circled very high and flew off to the south. The usual shore birds and waders were present, as well as a troublesome Bald Eagle that kept everything jumping. I had spoken to Curt McDermott, and he had found some good birds along 17K in Bullville/Montgomery. When I finally got the chance I went down and joined Ken McDermott, Bruce Nott, Lisa O’Gorman and Scott Baldinger to view an immature LITTLE BLUE HERON. This is a good bird for Orange County, only my third time having had one there. There were also a number of expected waders and shore birds present. Greater and Lesser Yellowlegs, Killdeer, Green Heron, Great Blue Heron and Great Egret. At a spot a few miles away, Curt had found two WHITE-RUMPED SANDPIPERS! He had gotten photos of them along with several other species of shore birds. By the time we all arrived, the White-rumps had departed. Still, this was a pretty exciting day of birding with some great birds seen by all.

Caspian Tern

Caspian Tern

side shot of Caspian Tern

side shot of Caspian Tern

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

