Apollo Plaza and Wolf Brook

This most recent Killdeer chick was part of a second clutch that are now able to be seen at the Apollo Plaza

This most recent Killdeer chick was part of a second clutch that are now able to be seen at the Apollo Plaza


I stopped by Apollo Plaza to see if anything was around. The Osprey are busy feeding at least one and probably two chicks. The Killdeer family I saw last week is growing and they weren’t quite as small as when I last saw them. Since then, a second brood has hatched and I was able to see both clutches together. The new ones were once again the show stealers. The chick in the photo isn’t even three inches tall. I then took a hike into Wolf Brook. The birds were very active, most feeding young. I had a total of 35 species and some nice surprises. A Nashville Warbler was a first for me at this location. There are still a couple singing male Hooded Warblers around and two recently fledged Common Ravens were a treat. Perhaps the highlight of the walk however was a WOOD TURTLE. I haven’t seen one in a number of years and was surprised to find it. It was nearly ten inches long and a beautiful individual. I enjoyed watching it, though I don’t think he was impressed with me. Butterflies were abundant today with at least a dozen species seen. Highlights were Common Ringlet, Spice-bush Swallowtail, Black Swallowtail and Red Admiral. Conspicuous in its absence was Monarch Butterfly, none seen in a spot that they are usually common. Overall, a nice morning.
This Wood Turtle was my first in several years.

This Wood Turtle was my first in several years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apollo Plaza and Wolf Brook

  1. Love the Killdeer chick and nice find with the Wood Turtle! I haven’t gotten out much this week because I’ve been busy, so nice to see your posts.

Leave a Reply

