Common Merganser Family

Another rainy day had me seeking out birds on the water. I was hoping for some possible waterfowl that may have put down in the heavy rain. I found nothing new, but along the Neversink River, I found a number of Common Mergansers. One of the six breeding species of waterfowl in the county, one of the birds had a brood of nine newly hatched chicks. I was able to watch them for several minutes before the mother led her chicks into the water and began to swim upstream. Even though it was pouring rain, I did manage to get one half way decent shot, a bright spot in a dismal day. Later on my way home, I found a hen turkey in Yankee Lake with six poults.

Female Common Merganser with nine chicks on the Neversink River.

Female Common Merganser with nine chicks on the Neversink River.


A hen turkey with six poults  along Yankee Lake Road.

A hen turkey with six poults along Yankee Lake Road.


One poult can be seen right at her feet in this shot.

One poult can be seen right at her feet in this shot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Common Merganser Family

  1. Great Posts John.
    Thanks!

  2. Karen C Miller says:

    Love all these mama birds with their babies! You continue to amaze me, John.

Leave a Reply

