Sullivan County Grasslands

Bobolink were abundant everywhere I went today.

Bobolink were abundant everywhere I went today.


Today I made a tour of some of Sullivan County’s best grasslands. While I couldn’t hit all the good locations, I managed to cover my favorite spots. Rubin Road, South Maplewoods Road, Beechwoods and Villa Roma, Hunter and Muhlig Roads. I was hoping to find some Grasshopper Sparrows. It didn’t happen. Grasshopper Sparrow was last found in the county in 2008. I have no reasonable explanation why they have not returned. That said, I had many grassland birds and they were all doing pretty well. Here is a list of the species particular to that habitat and the total number I had for the day. I broke it down by site in ebird. Here are the highlights:

Bobolink – 130! they were abundant everywhere I went!
Savannah Sparrow – 12 rather low count
Eastern Meadowlark – 11 not bad, all in Beechwoods area. Missed them at the landfill today.
American Kestrel – 3 all adult males hunting, represents three pair. I missed the birds at the landfill today.

Also found was a Black Vulture. Uncommon in the county, seems to continue to increase.

Meadowlarks were easily found in the Beechwoods area.

Meadowlarks were easily found in the Beechwoods area.


A Savannah Sparrow with a big worm was feeding young.

A Savannah Sparrow with a big worm was feeding young.


A Black Vulture among the Turkey Vultures on Rubin Road.

A Black Vulture among the Turkey Vultures on Rubin Road.


One of three male American Kestrels seen today.

One of three male American Kestrels seen today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sullivan County Grasslands

  1. I’ve never gone to any of the grasslands in Sullivan County, sounds like a great day. Do you ever get Upland Sandpiper in the county? Nice job with the photos today, especially the pair of Bobolinks.

  2. Wilma Amthor says:

    Great job John, haven’t been out lately, been too busy getting ready for Colorado…only 2 more days!!! I’m hoping to see lots of birds while I’m away

    Wilma

Leave a Reply

