Bashakill still quite lively

Gray-cheeked Thrush on the Nature Trail at Thrush Point.

Gray-cheeked Thrush on the Nature Trail at Thrush Point.

This morning I birded McDonald Road and Linear Park, hoping to find some of the flycatchers that haven’t shown up yet. No luck. It was quite birdy with half a dozen White-crowned Sparrows and a Brown Thrasher being the highlights. I then headed to the Bashakill where it continues to be quite active. I started at the Orchard where I had the usual suspects as far as warblers, vireos and thrush go. From there I walked the Birch Trail hoping for something special, but again the usual suspects. Once I reached the Nature Trail, things really picked up. The male CERULEAN WARBLER sang vigorously in the parking lot! As I crossed the bridge into the trail I had Yellow, Common Yellowthroat, American Redstart and several CANADA WARBLERS. I soon came upon my first WILSON’S WARBLER of the day. I continued on out past the board walk. More Canada Warblers, Black-throated Blue and Green Warblers. As I reached the bend in the trail only 30 feet beyond the board walk, I heard music to my ears. A loud “churry, churry, churry” burst from along the trail. At that time I spotted Scott Baldinger leading a field trip of young birders from the Bruderhof, and alerted him to the presence of the MOURNING WARBLER! A FOS for both of us. He was able to get everyone on the bird as it foraged through the rose bushes. An exciting moment for the all the kids. I have to make mention that Scott has been doing field trips with these kids for many years. It is always great to see him with the kids and how well they respond to Scott’s excellent tutelage. What a great group of young birders. Scott then mentioned to me that he had relocated the GRAY-CHEEKED THRUSH I had found yesterday, and it was in the same spot among many other thrush. I went out and finally was able to get a decent shot of the bird. It is pretty neat to have Wood, Swainson’s and Gray-cheeked Thrush, Veery and American Robin all in the same spot. The only miss today was Hermit Thrush. I eventually worked my way back out, finding a couple more Canadas and Wilson’s Warblers along the way. Another great morning, with over 70 species seen again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bashakill still quite lively

  1. scott baldinger says:

    Wow! What a way to finish up the morning with a MOURNING! Kids had a great day. Thanks for the heads up!
    Scotty

  2. Ken says:

    John, Congrats! There is NO such thing as a bad shot of a Mourning Warbler. Did I tell you about the one last year on the Nature Trail that sang to ME 14 times in a row?????

    • That’s great!  This guy is still there, just left him.  Also another Is across the street from the Orchard. I didn’t see it, but people told me they had just seen it pop up several times.

  3. Peter wulfhorst says:

    John, do you know if Mourning warblers and Yellow-throated Flycatchers breed in Sullivan County and if so, where that would be? Thanks.

  4. Peter,
    A friend of mine has reported numerous breeding Mourning Warbler in Delaware County just north of the Sullivan County border. I am going to check with him for an exact location and get back to you. John

    • Peter wulfhorst says:

      Thanks.

      • Peter,
        The best area for you to find Mourning Warbler in Delaware County is probably Bear Spring Mountain Game Area. Take Rt 30 northeast from Hancock and then Rt 36 north. Take any roads in the area that appear to have good habitat for Mourning Warbler. Good luck, John

Leave a Reply

