Bashakill Friday Morning

Bonaparte's Gulls at the Bashakill.

Bonaparte’s Gulls at the Bashakill.

Two Bonaparte's Gulls found off Haven Road first thing this morning were still present when I left at noon.

Two Bonaparte’s Gulls found off Haven Road first thing this morning were still present when I left at noon.

This morning I met Scott Baldinger at Haven Road. Scott had text me that there was a Bonaparte’s Gull there. As we viewed the bird and then were scanning the ducks, another Bonie came in. This bird was in nearly full breeding plumage. Duck numbers were down. We saw no Common Mergansers. There were still 6 Hooded and 4 Red-breasted Mergansers. Ring-necked Ducks had decreased to about 90 birds. 4 Blue-winged Teal and 3 Green-winged could also be seen from Haven Road. Scott had some Scaup before I arrived, but I didn’t get to see them. As we scanned the sparrows along the road, 2 Savannah Sparrows were seen as well as many Song and Swamp and 1 Tree. There was an abundance of Tree Swallows, but I only saw one Barn. As we worked our way toward the Orchard, I heard our FOS Louisiana Waterthrush up toward South Road. We finally got on the bird briefly before it flew down toward the bridge on the trail. Scott found at least 3 more on the Stone Fields Trail later. Also of note were two Lesser Yellowlegs that flew over Haven Road. Two Killdeer and one Snipe on the Birch Trail were to only other shore birds seen. Three Horned Grebe and two Pied-billed Grebe were seen as well. Very active morning!
PS I will be away for the next two weeks. I will be off line for that period, but if you are interested in my latest adventure, tune in about two weeks from now and check out what I’ve been up to. Until then!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

