More Orange County Goose chasing

the Warren sod farm flock.  You get the picture, there were two more fields of geese present.

the Warren sod farm flock. You get the picture, there were four more fields of geese present.

the Model Plane field flock

the Model Plane field flock

the Onion Avenue Corn stubble flock

the Onion Avenue Corn stubble flock

One of a dozen huge flocks of blackbirds present today.

One of a dozen huge flocks of blackbirds present today.

the bird at the second location, I think It was the same bird.

the bird at the second location, I think It was the same bird.

Greater White-fronted Goose on Onion Avenue 3/13/14

Greater White-fronted Goose on Onion Avenue 3/13/14

I headed down to Orange again this morning hoping some migration has begun among the geese. There are thousands of Canada Geese in the area of Onion Avenue, Pierce Circle and Warren Sod Farm. I estimate at least 6000 geese present and have excellent photos to prove it. Among the geese in the corn stubble on Onion Avenue I found and adult GREATER WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE. It disappeared a short time later. Just down the road a quarter of a mile, I found what I presume was the same bird again. I was not able to locate the Cackling Goose today, but I suspect it is still there. There were also thousands of blackbirds. Grackles and Redwings were the most numerous, with lesser numbers of Cowbirds and Starlings. I spotted a blackbird with white wing patches in the distance. I was able to relocate it once, but still didn’t get a good enough look for a positive ID. It is quite possibly a Yellow-headed Blackbird, so people should keep an eye for this bird. Be cautious, I found a Red-winged Blackbird later on Pierce circle with a white wing patch on its left wing, a trait of luecism, that got me going for a minute. The migration of Snow Geese seems to have been delayed due to our severe winter, but it should begin any time now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

