Bashakill

Long-tailed Duck found by Scott Baldinger at the Bashakill this morning.

Long-tailed Duck found by Scott Baldinger at the Bashakill this morning.

This morning I met Karen Miller at the Bashakill and eventually we were joined by a number of our friends including Lance Verderame, Scott Baldinger and Arlene Borko. It was a great morning. The channels at the Bashkill are opening more each day and the waterfowl are increasing daily as well. Karen and I covered Haven and South Road and the Deli Fields. We had some nice birds. We met Lance at the Deli Fields as well. As Karen and I were finishing up there, Scott called us letting us know there was a LONG-TAILED DUCK at Haven Road (thanks Scott!). We zoomed over for great views of this bird. We sifted through the waterfowl searching for something else new. Karen and Scott each went on their own way and Arlene joined me to see the duck. Once everyone was gone, I decided it was just to nice out and that I would hike some of the trails. I was just finishing up on the last trail when I decided to take a different turn. Only 50 feet in I looked up and saw a nest, with a GREAT HORNED OWL sitting tightly on it. Though Great Horned Owls nest each year at the Bashakill, this is only the second nest I have ever found. In the best interest of the owls, I won’t be revealing the location of the nest. All in all it was a great morning with my great birding friends. Here is a list of the highlights of the 33 species
Great Horned Owl on nest at the Bashakill

Great Horned Owl on nest at the Bashakill

from today:

Wood Duck – 5
American Black Duck
LONG-TAILED DUCK – 1
BUFFLEHEAD – 1
Hooded Merganser
Common Merganser
Bald Eagle
Herring Gull
Ring-billed Gull
GREAT HORNED OWL
Pileated Woodpecker
Northern Flicker
Common Raven
Golden-crowned Kinglet

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill

  1. Great day John! Karen let me know about the Long-tailed Duck so I went over to check it out in the afternoon. Congrats on the Great Horned Owl, I look forward to updates!

    • Thanks Matt, I went out this evening to try for other Owls and Woodcock.  At the Deli Fields I had one Woodcock and was trying for the Screech-owls when yet another Great Horned Owl began calling right near the Pine Kill.  Apparently there are at least two pair of GHO at the Bash. No screech

Leave a Reply

